“You yourselves have seen what I did to Egypt, and how I carried you on eagles’ wings and brought you to myself. 5Now if you obey me fully and keep my covenant, then out of all nations you will be my treasured possession. Although the whole earth is mine, 6you will be for me a kingdom of priests and a holy nation.’ These are the words you are to speak to the Israelites.” Exodus 19:3-6

Here and now, we, His treasured possession have felt the results of a sin infected world. For since the fall of man, sin infects this earth and God’s Presence only curtails the complete destruction of man by it…

We, His treasured possession, have been given this opportunity to be in covenant with Him, to be His priestly Kingdom, to be His holy nation, set apart, right where we are, right here, right now.

What makes us priestly to God and holy to others? The Ten Commandments. Consider them as a set of fruit of the Spirit of God in us. Yes, it is the work on Jesus on the cross that reunites to God. But what is it that makes us a kingdom of priests and a holy nation?

The first four commandments fulfill His promise to make us a holy nation. Commandments five through ten make us a royal priesthood. In stead of focusing on a list of do’s and don’ts, we need to focus on what the Ten Commandments say about Who He is, who we are and what He has called us to do.

“I am the LORD your God,
who brought you out of Egypt,
out of the land of slavery.
“You shall have no other gods before me.”
Exodus 20:2-3

 

God tells us…

I am the Lord your God…I AM identifies Jehovah. That’s how we know it isn’t Zeus or Budda! The word “your” means possession or ownership. Jehovah is our Lord and we are His.

So, He explains what this relationship looks like.

As His people we will…

have no other gods but Me…no god but God…no focus but God…no goal but God…no desire but God…all the law is based on this one command. The Ten Commandments teach us this very point – instead of being law, they show us how observance of the first commandment is fulfilled in every area of life….

When our focus is totally on God, we benefit as well as our neighbors.

Our comfort – His covenant
He will provide
If we obey
I AM the Lord Your God

