“You yourselves have seen what I did to Egypt, and how I carried you on eagles’ wings and brought you to myself. 5Now if you obey me fully and keep my covenant, then out of all nations you will be my treasured possession. Although the whole earth is mine, 6you will be for me a kingdom of priests and a holy nation.’ These are the words you are to speak to the Israelites.” Exodus 19:3-6

God’s message through Moses in Exodus 19:5 is for the Israelites. God says, you have seen what I have done to the Egyptians, that is my power. You have seen how I bore you on eagle’s wings, that is my mercy and care. You have seen how I brought you to Me. Now, (there was a purpose for my actions),

You obey My voice, listen and keep my covenant, obey.
Then you will belong to Me, treasured, out of all the people I own.

Do you have a favorite teacup that you use more than any other? A favorite piece of jewelry? They are with you more than your other possessions? Always in your presence? So it is with God! We, just like that jewelry, have a purpose…to be priestly kingdom, a holy nation. According to Exodus 19:3-6, we are priestly in that we mediate between the people of earth and God by being a holy nation who is set apart, different from others.

What did He mean, in Exodus 19 about obeying Him fully and keeping His commandments? Historically, Exodus 19:3-6 takes place three months after the parting of the Red Sea. Egypt (the worldly lifestyle) is three months and many miles behind us. Now we are gathered on the plain before Mt. Sinai. This mountain is covered by a cloud: the Presence of God. God is here! There’s a trumpet blast, a piercing blast! God speaks,

“I am the LORD your God, who brought you out of Egypt, out of the land of slavery. 3″You shall have no other gods before me. 4″You shall not make for yourself an idol in the form of anything in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the waters below. 7″You shall not misuse the name of the LORD your God, for the LORD will not hold anyone guiltless who misuses his name. 8″Remember the Sabbath day by keeping it holy. 12″Honor your father and your mother, so that you may live long in the land the LORD your God is giving you. 13″You shall not murder. 14″You shall not commit adultery. 15″You shall not steal. 16″You shall not give false testimony against your neighbor. 17″You shall not covet your neighbor’s house. You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife, or his manservant or maidservant, his ox or donkey, or anything that belongs to your neighbor.” Exodus 20:2-4, 7-8, 12-17

When our focus is totally on God, we benefit as well as our neighbors.

Our comfort – His covenant
He will provide
If we will obey
I AM the Lord Your God

